Filming in Ireland / Irish Film Commission /

Useful Information


Getting to Ireland 

 

By Air
Getting to Ireland is very easy. It is 45 minutes from London, 90 minutes from Paris, five hours from New York and eight hours from Los Angeles.

We have international airports in the North, South, East & West of Ireland, which include Dublin, Cork and Shannon.  These offer direct flights from the USA, UK and continental Europe.  There are also a number of regional airports which offer direct services from the UK.

Airlines that fly direct from the UK:

Ryanair - http://www.ryanair.com/
Aer Lingus - http://www.aerlingus.com/
BMI Baby - http://www.bmibaby.com/
Aer Arann - http://www.aerarann.com/
Flybe - http://www.flybe.com/
Logan Air - http://www.loganair.co.uk/
British Airways - http://www.britishairways.com/
City Jet - http://www.cityjet.com/
Air France - http://www.airfrance.ie/

Airlines that fly direct to Ireland from the USA or Canada:

Aer Lingus - http://www.aerlingus.com/
Air Canada - http://www.aircanada.ca/
Air Transat - http://www.airtransat.ca/
American Airlines - http://www.aa.com/
Continental Airlines - http://www.continental.com/
Delta Air Lines - http://www.delta.com/

By Sea
Ferries sail from UK and also from France

Stena Line - http://www.stenaline.com/
Isle of Man Steam Packet - http://www.steam-packet.com/
Norfolk Line Irish Sea http://www.norfolkline.com/
P&O Irish Sea - http://www.poferries.com/
Irish Ferries - http://www.irishferries.com/

Travelling within Ireland

By Air
There is a number of operators offering domestic flights throughout Ireland. Flights are available from the international airports of Dublin, Cork and Shannon, as well as from the regional airports of the Aran Islands, Derry, Donegal, Galway, Kerry, Knock, Waterford and Sligo.
Aer Lingus - http://www.aerlingus.com/
Aer Arann - http://www.aerarann.com/
Aer Arann Islands - http://www.aerarannislands.ie/
Logan Air (BA) - http://www.loganair.co.uk/

By Bus & Rail
Ireland is serviced by Bus Éireann and Irish Rail which have a good network throughout the country and connect most major towns and cities. Dublin Bus, the DART (Dublin Area Rapid Transit) and the Luas (Light Rail) service the capital.

Bus Eireann - http://www.buseireann.ie/
Irish Rail - http://www.irishrail.ie/
Dublin Bus - http://www.dublinbus.ie/
Dart - www.iarnrodeireann.ie/dart
Luas - www.luas.ie

By Car
Car rental companies, generally, don't rent to people under the age of 21 or over the age of 70. All intending drivers should be in possession of either a full valid national driving licence or an international permit issued abroad.

The majority of rental cars are standard shift, although automatic cars may be available for an additional charge and if ordered in advance.When driving in Ireland, motorists must drive on the left and seat belts must be worn at all times in the front and the back of the vehicle and there are very strict laws on drinking and driving.

Signposts denoting distance are in kilometres per hour. All signposts and place-names are displayed bilingually in both Irish (Gaelic) and English.

The AA Roadwatch website has very comprehensive information on traffic and route planning. Argus Car Hire - www.arguscarhire.com
Avis Car Hire - www.avis.ie
Budget Car Rental - www.budget.ie
Europcar Rental - www.europcar.ie
Hertz Car Hire - www.hertz.ie
Payless Car Rental - www.payless.ie 

A more comprehensive list of car hire companies can be found on the Car Rental Council of Ireland website.  


Weather Ireland enjoys a moderate climate. Our summers are mild, with the sunniest months being May and June. During the summer months daylight hours average 15 hours per day.

Met Éireann, the Irish National Meteorological Service is the leading provider of weather information and related services for Ireland. See www.met.ie for more information about Ireland's weather.

Key Facts

  • Ireland is 300 miles / 450 km long and 190 miles / 300km wide and covers approximately 32,600 sq miles / 84, 500 sq km.  
  • Ireland is divided into four provinces – Leinster, Munster, Connaught and Ulster. Within these four provinces are 32 counties, 26 of which make up the Republic of Ireland and 6 that make up Northern Ireland.  
  • The population is 4.5m (CSO 2009). Ireland has a young and well educated population with over half the population under 30 years old.  
  • After the capital Dublin, the Republic of Ireland’s largest cities are Cork, Limerick, Galway, Waterford, Drogheda and Kilkenny.

Time Zone
Ireland is on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) and, in accordance with daylight savings, clocks are put forward one hour mid-March and back one hour at the end of October.During summer it can stay light until as late as 11pm but during winter it can be dark by 4pm.

Language
English and Irish (Gaelic) are the two official languages. Street and road signs are bi-lingual, but the main language spoken is English. 

Currency
The euro is the local currency in Ireland. One euro consists of 100 cent. Visit www.xe.com for current exchange rates.

Communications
Telephone Code: If calling the Republic of Ireland from abroad, all telephone numbers must be prefixed with 00 353 (then drop the first 0 of the local code).Mobile Phones: Only digital phones with GSM subscriptions and a roaming agreement will work in Ireland.

Electrical Information
The standard voltage is the Republic of Ireland is 220 VAC at 50Hz. Plugs are 3 pin 1363 type. 

Bank Holidays
New Year’s Day – Jan 1st
St. Patrick’s Day – March 17th
Good Friday
Easter Monday
First Monday in May
First Monday in June
First Monday in August
Last Monday in October
Christmas Day – Dec 25th
St Stephen’s Day – Dec 26th

 

Home / Contact / Print this page / As Gaeilge / Sitemap