About Irish Film / News /

Nominations for ‘The Lobster’, ‘Brooklyn’, ‘The Hallow’ and ‘Room’ at BIFA

3rd Nov 2015

Irish talent has been in the spotlight for international film awards this week, with Irish co-production The Lobster receiving seven nominations at the Moët British Independent Film Awards, which also saw John Crowley’s Brooklyn being nominated in five categories in addition to a nomination each for Corin Hardy’s The Hallow and Lenny Abrahamson’s Room. This comes in the wake of Saoirse Ronan’s award win at the Hollywood Film Awards last weekend.

The Lobster is the most nominated film at this year’s BIFAs, with a nod in the categories of Best British Independent Film, Best Director for Yorgos Lanthimos, Best Actor for Colin Farrell, Best Supporting Actress for Olivia Colman, Best Screenplay for Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou, Best Supporting Actor for Ben Whishaw and Producer of the Year for Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Yorgos Lanthimos and Lee Magiday. The Lobster is currently on release in cinemas and last week surpassed the €1 million mark at the Irish and UK box office. The Lobster is written by Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou and produced by Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Ceci Dempsey and Yorgos Lanthimos. Executive Producers are Andrew Lowe, Tessa Ross and Sam Lavender. The Lobster is an Element Pictures, Scarlet Films, Faliro House, Haut et Court, Lemming Film co-production in association with Limp and with Irish finance for the film from the Irish Film Board and qualifies as a British film for the BIFAS by virtue of the fact that it is an official European co-production, including the UK.

Brooklyn has been nominated in five categories, which are Best Actress for Saoirse Ronan, Best Supporting Actress for Julie Walters, Best Screenplay for Nick Hornby, Best Supporting Actor for Domhnall Gleeson and Outstanding Achievement in Craft, for which Fiona Weir is nominated for casting. This follows on from Saoirse Ronan’s win at the Hollywood Film Awards, at which she was presented with the New Hollywood Award by Ryan Gosling. The acclaimed Brooklyn is released in cinemas this Friday. Brooklyn was produced by Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey. Production companies were Parallel Films, Finola Dwyer Productions, Wildgaze Films and Item 7. It was financed by the IFB, BAI, RTÉ, BBC, Telefilm, SODEC and the BFI.

Corin Hardy is nominated for the Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director for his horror feature The Hallow, which is released in cinemas on November 13th. Producers on The Hallow were John McDonnell, Brendan McCarthy, Felipe Marino and Joe Neurauter. The production companies on The Hallow were Fantastic Films and Occupant Entertainment. Financiers were IFB, Prescience, Altus Media, Hyperion, Windmill Lane and Studio Solas.

Room directed by Lenny Abrahamson has been nominated in the category of Best International Independent Film. Acclaimed by critics and audiences alike, Room will be released in Irish cinemas in January. Element Pictures’ Ed Guiney produced Room with David Gross. Executive producers are Andrew Lowe for Element Pictures and Jeff Arkuss and Jesse Shapira for No Trace Camping. Emma Donoghue, Rose Garnett (Film 4), Tessa Ross (Film 4), and David Kosse (Film 4) also serve as executive producers. Room is an Element Pictures and No Trace Camping production, in association with Film4, Telefilm Canada, and Bord Scannán na hÉireann/the Irish Film Board. A24 will distribute the film in the US, and Elevation Pictures is distributing the film in Canada. UTA handled the domestic sale. FilmNation Entertainment handled all international sales.

In addition, Irish actor Michael Fassbender has been nominated for Best Actor for his role in Macbeth, while Brendan Gleeson was nominated for Best Supporting Actor in Suffragette.

The Lobster, Brooklyn, The Hallow and Room were all supported by Bord Scannán na hÉireann/the Irish Film Board.

The 2015 Moët British Independent Film Awards will take place in London on December 6th.

Bookmark and Share
Home / Contact / Print this page / As Gaeilge / Sitemap