About Irish Film / News /

Congratulations to John Corcoran, Winner of IFB Short Film of the Year Award at Student Media Awards

27th Apr 2012
Bord Scannán na hEireann / The Irish Film Board (IFB) would like to congratulate John Corcoran who picked up the Short Film of the Year Award for his film Shellshock at the National Student Media Awards which took place in the Ballsbridge Hotel last night.

This was the fifth year the IFB have been involved with the Student Media Awards.  There were 28 submissions in Short Film of the Year category which were short-listed down to five.  The five nominees were judged and the overall winner was picked by Oscar nominated producer Eimear O'Kane (Pentecost) who was very impressed by the level of talent the nominees displayed.

Speaking about the winning film Shellshock, Eimear said:  "This film stood out for its consistence of high production values throughout from lighting to costume to set design and editing.  It was a well written story which was told in a visual and cinematic manner and was very well executed".

The National Student Media Awards were a huge success with over 500 students from colleges all over the country in attendance. They were hosted by radio and television personality Dermot Whelan with 34 awards handed out rewarding excellence in student media.

Congratulations to budding filmmaker John Corcoran who scooped Short Film of the Year Award for Shellshock.
Bookmark and Share
Home / Contact / Print this page / As Gaeilge / Sitemap